We’re pleased to be able to announce the 29-member squad for the one-off Test match against Fiji next month.

There are 8 new faces in the side: Ishamel Baikawa, Benjamin Hetra,  Justin Olam, Watson Boas, Sailas Gahuna,  Anderson Benford,  Philemon Kimiseve and Tuvi Lepan.

The Hunters squad will assemble in Port Moresby this week to finalise preparations for their third season in the Intrust Super Cup competition.

“Both Enoch Maki (knee) and Anderson Benford (ankle) are recovering from pre-Christmas surgery in Australia and dependent on their rehab both should be available for the start of the season,” said Cutmore.

He added that Hunters coach Michael Marum will fly to Brisbane next week to join Wayne Bennett and the Brisbane Broncos for a week of pre-season training.

This will include discussions on the SP Hunters using the Broncos’ facilities for the captain’s run during the season

The Kumuls will play a Test match against the Fiji Batis at CBUS Stadium, Robina, Gold Coast on May 2 in what is a double-header on the day. The other Test match is between Tonga and Samoa.

Should the Kumuls win their Test, PNG is to host the winner of the Tonga-Samoa Test in Papua New Guinea on October 25.

The selectors have reminded the players that because they have been named doesn’t mean that they are automatic selections as they would have to continue to work hard to make it into the final team.

The squad is:

  • David Mead (Gold Coast Titans),
  • Nene MacDonald (Sydney Roosters),
  • Bland Abavu (SP Hunters), Kato Ottio (SP Hunters),
  • Wellington Albert (Penrith Panthers),
  • Israel Eliab (SP Hunters),
  • Roger Laka (SP Hunters),
  • Luke Page (Canberra Raiders),
  • Ray Thompson (NQ Cowboys),
  • Rod Griffin (Ipswich Jets),
  • Rhyse Martin (Townsville Blackhawks),
  • Tyson Martin (Mackay Cutters),
  • Adam Korave (SP Hunters),
  • Wartovo Puara (SP Hunters),
  • Willy Minoga (SP Hunters),
  • Brandy Peter (SP Hunters),
  • Stanton Albert (Penrith Panthers),
  • Ase Boas (SP Hunters),
  • Josh Damen ( Souths Logan Magpies),
  • Kurt Baptiste (Canberra Raiders),
  • Timothy Lomai (SP Hunters),
  • Esau Siune (SP Hunters),
  • Adex Wera (SP Hunters),
  • Lawrence Tu’u (SP Hunters)
  • Noel Zeming (SP Hunters),
  • Thompson Teteh (SP Hunters),
  • Enock Maki (SP Hunters),
  • Henry Noki (SP Hunters),
  • Stargroth Amean (SP Hunters).